Respiratory Medicine

The Department of Respiratory Medicine is a key discipline of the Fifth Affiliated Hospital of Sun Yat-sen University and a project of the 12th Five-Year Plan of Zhuhai health system. We have a powerful team including a Ph.D and master supervisor, 2 chief physicians, 2 deputy chief physicians and 2 attending physicians to provide excellent clinic services. The number of nurses and resident physicians is up to 20.

The Department of Respiratory Medicine has substantial teaching resources. It is the first doctorate degree authorization center of this hospital. In 2006 it was authorized by the Ministry of Health and became one of the first clinical specialist training bases.
Therefore, physicians here are all well-educated. It has 3 physicians with doctor degrees and 3 with master degrees. The number is still increasing. Some of them studied in foreign countries such as Japan, Sweden and other countries. 

Doctors of our department have been supported by a lot of national foundation programs, which are as follows: National Natural Science Foundation of China, Foundation of the Ministry of Education of China for Outstanding Young Teachers, Foundation for Key University Teachers from the Ministry of Education of China and other programs from the Department of Health Science. Over 100 outstanding papers have been published in key medical journals. With all the support, we won the Awards of Provincial Scientific and Technological Progress, Provincial Teaching Achievement Prizes, etc. The research and academic achievements have been recognized by domestic counterparts and have influence in China.